Team Captains

Team captains for the 2019 Golden Flake A-Day Game for the Crimson Team were tight end Miller Forristall, quarterback Tua Tagovailoa and offensive lineman Matt Womack; for the White Team, defensive lineman Raekwon Davis, defensive back Xavier McKinney and linebacker Dylan Moses.


Official A-Day Game Attendance

The official estimated attendance at the 2019 Golden Flake A-Day Game was 62,219 at Bryant-Denny Stadium (capacity: 101,821), the 13th-largest attendance mark for an A-Day football game.


Largest A-Day Attendance Totals

The top attendance totals for Alabama’s A-Day Game.


Rank   Year    Attendance

  1. 2011    92,310*
  2.         2007    92,138
  3.         2010    91,312
  4. 2009    84,050
  5. 2012    78,526
  6. 2013    78,315
  7. 2008    78,200
  8. 2016    76,212
  9. 2018    74,732
  10. 2017    74,326
  11. 2014    73,506
  12. 2015    65,175
  13. 2019    62,219
  14. 1988    51,117
  15. 1994    46,700
  16. 2006    40,000
  17. 1995    37,323
  18. 2002    37,000
  19. 2004    35,000
  20. 2001    35,000

*A-Day Record


Spring Football Award Winners

The following Alabama football players were honored for the performance throughout spring football practice with the following awards bestowed by the Crimson Tide coaching staff:


Lee Roy Jordan Headhunter Award – Dylan Moses, Matt Womack

Jerry Duncan “I Like to Practice” Award – Tommy Brown, Jaylen Waddle, Josh Jobe, DJ Dale, Henry Ruggs

Billy Neighbors Defensive Lineman Award – Raekwon Davis, LaBryan Ray

Paul Crane Offensive Lineman Award – Jedrick Wills, Alex Leatherwood

Bobby Johns Defensive Back Award – Trevon Diggs, Patrick Surtain

Johnny Musso Offensive Back Award – Brian Robinson, Najee Harris

Ray Perkins Receiver Award – Jerry Jeudy, Devonta Smith

Woodrow Lowe Linebacker Award – Anfernee Jennings

Derrick Thomas Community Service Award – Mac Hereford, Eddie Smith

Bear Bryant Outstanding Non-Scholarship Award – Giles Amos, Daniel Powell, William Cooper, Jackson Roby, Joshua Lanier

Ozzie Newsome Most Improved Freshman Award – Evan Neal, Cameron Latu, Eyabi Anoma, Slade Bolden, Shane Lee

Bart Starr Most Improved Player Award – Christian Barmore, Emil Ekiyor, Jared Mayden, Josh McMillon

Mal Moore Leadership Award – Miller Forristall, Thomas Fletcher, Chris Owens

Sylvester Croom Commitment to Excellence Award – Tua Tagovailoa, Xavier McKinney, Shyheim Carter

Dwight Stephenson Lineman of the A-Day Game Award – Anfernee Jennings

Dixie Howell Memorial Most Valuable Player of the A-Day Game Award – John Metchie


The Golden Flake A-Day Game Brings an End to Spring Practice

The University of Alabama football team and head coach Nick Saban wrapped up spring practice today with the 2019 Golden Flake A-Day Game at Bryant-Denny Stadium. Alabama opened spring practice on Friday, March 8, and held 14 practices through Thursday, April 11, leading up to today’s A-Day game. The Crimson Tide also held two scrimmages here at Bryant-Denny Stadium this spring (March 30 and April 6) in preparation for today’s game.


Walk of Fame Ceremony Honored 2018 Team Captains

The four permanent team captains from the 2018 season – running back Damien Harris, tight end Hale Hentges, linebacker Christian Miller and offensive lineman Ross Pierschbacher – were recognized at the annual Walk of Fame ceremony that took place Saturday at 11:15 a.m. at Denny Chimes. Per Alabama tradition, all four captains had their hand prints and foot prints placed in cement at the base of Denny Chimes in recognition of the leadership, commitment and excellence in representing the Crimson Tide.


A-Day Game Format

The format for the A-Day game was much like a normal game, with a few minor variations primarily regarding the game clock. The game consisted of four 15-minute quarters with a running clock. The clock stopped only following scoring plays, penalties, and changes of possession. Regular clock rules were used during the final minutes of the second quarter and the fourth quarter. Halftime was 12 minutes in duration. Players wearing black jerseys (quarterbacks and injured players) were considered “tag-off” and were not treated as live players. The kickoffs and kick returns were “tag-off” plays as well, with the ball spotted at the 30-yard line.