TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – On Dec. 11, 2020, Nick’s Kids Foundation will hold its 9th Annual Teacher Excellence Awards at the site of the new All-Inclusive Playground at Sokol Park.


Who: Terry Saban, 47 local Tuscaloosa teachers, Big Al


What: A socially distanced drive-by celebration to honor 47 teachers from the Tuscaloosa area hosted by Nick’s Kids Foundation. Terry Saban will greet and present each teacher with a commemorative plaque and $500 in gift cards to Tuscaloosa businesses donated by Nick’s Kids Foundation. Lunch from Full Moon Bar-B-Que will be provided for those honored.


When: Friday Dec. 11, 2020 from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.


Where: Sokol Park at the All-Inclusive Playground Construction Site

5901 Watermelon Rd, Northport, AL 35473


Why: Nick’s Kids Foundation will be recognizing and rewarding local teachers for their dedication inside and outside of the classroom. Nick and Terry Saban are extremely grateful for all of the educators and each year they take time to recognize the incredible impact teachers have on their students.


How: The Nick’s Kids Foundation 9th Annual Teacher Excellence Awards Celebration is not open to the public.



Additional Information

  • Media is to arrive and check-in at the front table by 11:00 a.m. for further instructions.
  • There will be one interview opportunity with Ms. Terry at 11:20 a.m.
  • Opportunities for photos will be available throughout the event as well as during the presentations.


The recipients for the 2020 Teacher Excellence Awards:

The Alberta School of Performing Arts – Kelsea Covington

American Christian Academy – Melanie Carter

Arcadia Elementary School – Temple Little

Big Sandy Elementary School – David Lammon

Brookwood Elementary School – Jolynn Fenton

Brookwood Middle School – Michael House

Buhl Elementary School – Aprile Fields

Central Elementary School – Teresa Bryant

Child Development Research Center – Shannon Spruiell

Collins-Riverside Middle School – Lindsey Tullis

Crestmont Elementary School – Tiffany Langs

Duncanville Middle School – Trent Isom

Eastwood Middle School – Lutricia Powell Peoples

Echols Middle School – Erin Treadwell

Englewood Elementary School – Katrina Wanstall

Faucett-Vestavia Elementary – Christina Dickens

Flatwoods Elementary School – Norma Mew

Hillcrest Middle School – Jennifer Nash

Holt Elementary School – Tyler Johnson

Huntington Place Elementary School – Mary Beth Thomas

Lake View Elementary School – Janel George

Lloydwood Education Center – Alicia Hebron

Martin Luther King, Jr. Elementary School – Khalia Burton

Matthews Elementary School – Kanesha Hood

Maxwell Elementary School – Charlene Hammonds

Myrtlewood Elementary School – Megan Baldelli-Boggs

Northport Elementary School – Joanna Sappington

Northridge Middle School – Ryan Ballard

Northside Middle School – Kate Hardy

Oakdale Elementary School – Leonetine Jack

RISE Center – Kelsey McFadden

Rock Quarry Elementary School – Candice Sparks

Sipsey Valley Middle School – Nina Graham

Skyland Elementary School – Tara McIntosh

Southview Elementary School – Ayesha al-shabazz

STARS Academy & Success Prep – Susan Long

Taylorville Primary School – Chase Sorrell

Tuscaloosa Academy – Jaclyn Cook

Tuscaloosa Magnet Schools Elementary – Amber Millhouse

Tuscaloosa Magnet Schools Middle – Jessica Buckley

University Place Elementary School – Brancie Dawson

Vance Elementary School – Rachel Sharp

Verner Elementary – Joy Eddings

Walker Elementary – Alicia Bynum

Westlawn Middle School – Neitarsha Falls

Westwood Elementary School – Matt Andrews

Woodland Forest Elementary School – Julia Bush


About Nick’s Kids Foundation

Nick’s Kids Foundation is the official nonprofit organization of Nick and Terry Saban that is dedicated to raising money as well as supporting other charitable organizations that support family, children, student and teacher causes. For more information about Nick’s Kids, visit www.nickskidsfoundation.org.