Crimson Tide head coach named the WCFF’s coach of the year for the second time in his career

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – Alabama head coach Nick Saban has been named the 2018 Walter Camp Coach of the Year, the Walter Camp Football Foundation announced Thursday.

Saban, who has led the Crimson Tide to a 13-0 record, the school’s 27th Southeastern Conference championship and the No. 1 seed in the upcoming College Football Playoff this season, has earned the honor for the second time in his career. He was previously recognized in 2008 and joins Gene Stallings (1992) as the only Alabama head coaches to receive the award.

Under Saban, the Crimson Tide has reached the 13-win mark for the fourth straight season and the sixth time in his 12-year tenure at UA. Alabama is also making its fifth CFP appearance in 2018 and is the only school to appear in every edition of the playoff.

In 12 seasons with the Tide, Saban has posted a record of 145-20 (.879) and led Alabama to five national championships. He has a career record of 236-62-1 (.791) in 23 seasons as a collegiate head coach.

Saban, along with Walter Camp Player of the Year Tua Tagovailoa and other Walter Camp award winners, will be honored at the Walter Camp Football Foundation awards banquet on Jan. 12, 2019 in New Haven, Conn.