Malachi Moore voted as A-Day’s Dixie Howell Memorial Award for Most Valuable Player

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – The Crimson team defeated the White team, 30-21, in the 2023 Golden Flake A-Day Football Game inside Bryant-Denny Stadium. A total of 58,710 fans were in attendance for the Crimson Tide’s final spring session of the season.


Malachi Moore, who finished with nine tackles, three tackles for loss and a pass breakup, won the Dixie Howell Memorial Award (MVP of the A-Day Game), while defensive lineman Tim Smith garnered the Dwight Stephenson Award (Most Valuable Lineman of the A-Day Game). In all, the Crimson defense had three interceptions, 10 tackles for loss and four pass breakups in the victory.


Freshman running back Justice Haynes shined in his first game inside Bryant-Denny Stadium, combining for 64 total yards and three touchdowns (two rushing, one receiving) to lead the Crimson squad. Meanwhile, White’s Malik Benson led all receivers with five catches for 70 yards and a touchdown.


Quarterback Jalen Milroe guided the Crimson team as he threw for a game-high 245 yards on 19-of-37 passing and a pair of touchdowns. Ty Simpson started for the White team and completed 12-of-26 passes for 155 yards while Dylan Lonegran finished the game and connected on 8-of-14 pass attempts for 79 yards and a touchdown.



First Quarter

  • 02:22 – WHITE | Scoring the first points in the scrimmage, Jalen Milroe rushed for a 35-yard touchdown which finished off a seven play 75-yard drive to give the White Team an early 7-0 lead

second Quarter

  • 13:52 – CRIMSON | Justice Haynes scored the Crimson team’s first points of the game, rushing for a 3-yard touchdown, tying the game at 7-7
  • 06:11 – CRIMSON | Quarterback Dylan Lonergran threw the game’s first passing touchdown, connecting with Haynes for the 6-yard touchdown and capped an 80 yard drive that took nine plays and 5:10 off the clock
  • 00:23 – CRIMSON | Will Reichard finished the first half scoring as he converted a 22-yard field goal attempt, extending the Crimson Team’s lead to 17-7 at intermission


  • 04:13 – CRIMSON | Upton Bellenfant made a 39-yard field goal to give the Crimson team 20 unanswered points and a 20-7 lead
  • 02:01 – WHITE | Milroe threw a 36-yard touchdown pass to Emmanuel Henderson Jr., cutting the lead to 20-14


fourth QUARTER

  • 04:33 – CRIMSON | Haynes scored his third touchdown of the day when he plunged in from two yards out to cap off a three-play, 60-yard drive that took just 1:18 off the clock
  • 00:46 – CRIMSON | Bellenfant connected on a 49-yard field goal to give Crimson a 30-14 lead
  • 00:20 – WHITE | Milroe found Malik Benson from nine yards out to finish a four play, 70-yard drive that took only 26 seconds off the clock



  • Dixie Howell Memorial Award: Malachi Moore
  • Dwight Stephenson Award: Tim Smith
  • Lee Roy Jordan Headhunter Award: Tyler Booker, Caleb Downs
  • Jerry Duncan “I Like to Practice” Award: CJ Dippre, Jalen Milroe, Damon Payne, Kobe Prentice, Ty Simpson
  • Billy Neighbors Defensive Lineman Award: Jaheim Oatis, Tim Smith
  • Paul Crane Offensive Lineman Award: Darrian Dalcourt, JC Latham
  • Bobby Johns Defensive Back Award: Terrion Arnold, Kool-Aid McKinstry
  • Johnny Musso Offensive Back Award: Justice Haynes Roydell Williams
  • Ray Perkins Receiver Award: Isaiah Bond, Kendrick Law
  • Woodrow Lowe Linebacker Award: Jihaad Campbell, Que Robinson
  • Derrick Thomas Community Service Award: Malik Benson, Seth McLaughlin
  • Bear Bryant Outstanding Non-Scholarship Award: Jonathan Bennett, Kyle Flood, Caleb McDougle, Charlie Skehan, Jordan Smith, Bennett Whisenhunt, Sam Willoughby
  • Ozzie Newsome Most Improved Freshman Award: Jeremiah Alexander, Emmanuel Henderson, Antonio Kite, Earl Little, Amari Niblack, Jake Pope, Elijah Pritchett, Kadyn Proctor, James Smith
  • Bart Starr Most Improved Player Award: James Burnip, TJ Ferguson, Tim Keenan, Keanu Koht, Danny Lewis, Trezman Marshall, Jam Miller, Shawn Murphy, Kristian Story
  • Mal Moore Leadership Award: Justin Eboigbe, Seth McLaughlin, Malachi Moore
  • Sylvester Croom Commitment to Excellence Award: Ja’Corey Brooks, Jermaine Burton, Jase McClellan, Will Reichard

For all the latest information on the team, follow AlabamaMBB on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook. General athletic news can be found @UA_Athletics on Twitter and Inst