The reigning Nagurski Trophy winner is joined by three other players on the finalist list


TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – Alabama’s Will Anderson Jr. was selected as a finalist for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, the Charlotte Touchdown Club and Football Writers Association of America announced Wednesday.


The linebacker is joined by Calijah Kancey (Pittsburgh), Chris Smith (Georgia) and Tuli Tuipulotu (USC) to make up the group of four finalists for this year’s award. Anderson Jr. is the reigning Nagurski Trophy winner, bringing home the hardware in 2021, and became the Crimson Tide’s second recipient along with Jonathan Allen in 2016.


The Bronko Nagurski Trophy has been presented annually since 1993 to the top defensive player in college football as voted on by the members of the FWAA. The award is named after Bronko Nagurski, who played football for the University of Minnesota and the Chicago Bears. The 2022 winner will be announced live at the annual Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet on Monday, Dec. 5 at the Charlotte Convention Center.


Nagurski Trophy

Will Anderson Jr., Linebacker

  • One of the nation’s premiere defenders
  • Leads the SEC and ranks ninth nationally with 14 tackles for loss (-60 yards)
  • Second in the conference and tied for sixth in the country in sacks with eight (-43 yards)
  • Totaled 42 tackles while adding a team-high 10 quarterback hurries, a blocked field goal and a pick-six