The Crimson Tide snapped the Bulldogs’ 29-game winning streak with the victory


ATLANTA – The No. 8/8/8 Alabama football team secured a 27-24 upset win over No. 1/1/1 Georgia Saturday afternoon inside Mercedes-Benz Stadium. With the win, the Crimson Tide (12-1) secured the program’s 30th Southeastern Conference Championship and the ninth under head coach Nick Saban.


Quarterback Jalen Milroe was named the game’s Most Valuable Player after leading the team to its 11th consecutive victory. Milroe finished the contest with 221 total yards including 192 through the air on 13-of-23 passing and a pair of touchdowns.


Roydell Williams led the ground attack with 16 carries for 64 yards and a touchdown while Milroe contributed 29 yards with his legs. Isaiah Bond led the receiving corps with 79 yards on five receptions, while Jermaine Burton and Jam Miller each caught a touchdown pass in the win.


Defensively, Terrion Arnold led UA with six total tackles, including half a tackle for loss (-1 yard), to go along with a pass breakup. Malachi Moore and Trezmen Marshall each contributed five tackles and one TFL apiece with Marshall adding a key fumble recovery.


Official Merchandise



  • Alabama head coach Nick Saban improved to 4-0 in SEC Championship games against Georgia and is now 5-0 against the Bulldogs all-time in the conference title game (1-0 while at LSU).
  • Nine of the Crimson Tide’s 30 SEC Championships have come under Saban, who improved to 9-1 in the conference’s championship game at UA. Saban has guided Alabama to league crowns in 2009, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2020, 2021 and 2023.
  • Alabama improved to 18-1 in games played in Atlanta during Saban’s tenure, including 17 straight victories.
  • The victory extended the Crimson Tide’s NCAA record for wins over the Associated Press’ No. 1 team to 11, eight of which have come under Saban.
  • Under Saban, a total of nine first-year starting quarterbacks have maintained their starting role for 10-plus games of a season. All but one have won SEC Championships in their first season with only AJ McCarron not claiming a conference crown.
  • With his first field goal of the game, Will Reichard became the NCAA’s all-time career leader in points, breaking the previous record of 530 set by Keenan Reynolds. Reichard totaled nine points in the contest (three extra points, two field goals) and now has 539 career points.
  • The SEC Championship game captains were Dallas Turner, Deontae Lawson and Tyler Booker.


How It Happened


  • 09:31 – UGA | The Bulldogs struck first when Kendall Milton found the end zone from 17-yards out, finishing off an eight-play, 83-yard drive that lasted 3:50
  • 03:43 – UA | The Crimson Tide got on the board with a 43-yard field goal from Will Reichard to cap an eight-play drive that took 3:48



  • 12:04 – UA | Jalen Milroe connected with Jam Miller for an 18-yard touchdown, part of a 10-play, 92-yard drive lasting 4:32
  • 00:48 – UA | Milroe found Jermaine Burton in the end zone for a 15-yard touchdown to end a nine-play, 69-yard drive in 3:49



  • 08:51 – UGA | Georgia opened the second half with a 34-yard field goal from Peyton Woodring, finishing off a five-play, 54-yard drive that lasted 1:45
  • 00:48 – UA | Reichard converted a 28-yard field goal



  • 10:16 – UGA | The Bulldogs struck first in the fourth quarter with a one-yard rushing touchdown from Carson Beck to cap a four-play, 35-yard drive lasting 1:37
  • 05:47 – UA | Roydell Williams ran up the middle for a one-yard rushing touchdown to end a nine-play, 75-yard drive that lasted 4:29
  • 02:52 – UGA | Georgia wrapped up a 10-play, 75-yard drive lasting 2:55 thanks to a Milton rush up the middle for a one-yard touchdown


Up Next

  • Alabama will find out its bowl destination Sunday afternoon