The unit is one of 20 semifinalists for the award which recognizes college football’s top offensive line

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – The Alabama offensive line was selected as one of 20 semifinalists for the Joe Moore Award, the Joe Moore Foundation for Teamwork announced Wednesday. The Joe Moore Award is presented annually to the nation’s top offensive line unit.

The Tide’s offensive line, led by assistant head coach and offensive line coach Mario Cristobal, has been a steady force throughout the season and has played its best football down the stretch. The line has provided protection for a balanced attack that ranks among the SEC’s top scoring offenses. The unit has particularly excelled in the run game, as tailback Derrick Henry currently leads the nation in rushing touchdowns (19) and ranks second overall in rushing yards (1,458). In dominating the line of scrimmage, Alabama ranks among the top-15 nationally in time of possession (33:17).

The Joe Moore Award is named after Joe Moore, widely regarded as one of the best offensive line coaches in college football history, and is the only major college football award to honor a unit. The Award annually recognizes the nation’s most outstanding offensive line unit that best displays toughness, effort, teamwork, physicality, tone setting and finishing. Five finalists for the award will be announced Nov. 30, wherein the Joe Moore Award Voting Committee will cast a second vote to determine the 2015 recipient.

The Crimson Tide welcomes the Charleston Southern Buccaneers to Bryant-Denny Stadium this Saturday for the final home game of the season. Kickoff is set for 3 p.m. CT and will be televised on the SEC Network.