Crimson Tide previously won the national offensive line of the year honor in 2015


TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – The Alabama offensive line was selected as one of 11 semifinalists for the Joe Moore Award, the Foundation for Teamwork announced on Monday.


The Joe Moore Award is presented annually to the nation’s top offensive line unit. Alabama is joined on the semifinalist list by Buffalo, BYU, Coastal Carolina, Iowa, Iowa State, Kentucky, Louisiana, Notre Dame, Ohio State, and Texas A&M.


Offensive Line

Joe Moore Award Semifinalist

  • Alabama’s starting offensive line has only allowed quarterback Mac Jones to be sacked six times in 10 games on 301 drop backs, or one sack per 50.2 drop backs, while Jones leads the nation in passing efficiency
  • The Crimson Tide is second nationally in rushing touchdowns with 33 (3.3 per game), while ranking third in the SEC in rushing offense (190.1 ypg)
  • The Alabama offensive front has blocked for the nation’s top-ranked FBS scoring offense (49.5 ppg), the No. 1 pass efficiency offense (198.2) and No. 3 total offense (537.6)


The award is named after Joe Moore, widely regarded as one of the best offensive line coaches in college football history and is the only major college football award to honor a unit. The award annually recognizes the nation’s most outstanding offensive line unit that best displays toughness, effort, teamwork, physicality, tone setting and finishing. Alabama previously won the award in 2015 in its first year of existence.


The Joe Moore Award finalists will be named on Monday, Dec. 21st. The eventual winner will be recognized in the ensuing weeks during a surprise, on campus visit to the winning unit’s school (TBD as per the winning school’s schedule).