The junior left tackle is one of six players on the semifinalist list


TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – Alabama’s Evan Neal was named a semifinalist for the Outland Trophy, the Football Writers Associate of America (FWAA) and the Greater Omaha Sports Committee announced Wednesday evening.


Neal is one of six players that make up the semifinalist list and is joined by Jordan Davis (Georgia), Ikem Ekwonu (NC State), Darian Kinnard (Kentucky), Tyler Linderbaum (Iowa) and Nicholas Petit-Frere (Ohio State). Alabama has had six previous winners of the Outland, including Alex Leatherwood (2020), Quinnen Williams (2018), Cam Robinson (2016), Barrett Jones (2011), Andre Smith (2008) and Chris Samuels (1999).


Evan Neal

Offensive Tackle, Junior

  • Started every game of his Alabama career, including 10 starts at left tackle in 2021
  • Leads all Crimson Tide linemen with 20 knockdown blocks across his 683 total snaps this season
  • Allowed just 1.5 sacks and 5.5 pressures on 350 pass attempts by Tide quarterbacks
  • Provides time for an Alabama offense that ranks third in scoring (44.6 ppg), 10th in total offense (484.7 ypg) and 11th in passing offense (322.6 ypg)


The Outland Trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s best college interior lineman on offense or defense. It is named after John H. Outland, one of a select few players ever named All-America at two positions. Three finalists for this year will be announced on Tuesday, Nov. 23, and the recipient of the 2021 Outland Trophy will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN on Thursday, Dec. 9.