The sophomore is one of five candidates for national linebacker of the year honors


TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – Alabama football’s Dylan Moses has been chosen as one of five finalists for the 2018 Dick Butkus Award, the Butkus Foundation announced Monday.


Moses anchors a Crimson Tide defense that is ranked third nationally in points allowed per game at 13.1 and seventh in total defense at 282.1. The sophomore leads all Crimson Tide defenders in tackles this season with 61 and has added 9.0 tackles for loss (-39 yards), 3.5 sacks (-29), one pass breakup, one quarterback hurry and a forced fumble to his totals.


Joining Moses as a finalist are Kentucky’s Josh Allen, Michigan’s Devin Bush, Clemson’s Tre Lamar and LSU’s Devin White.


Four Crimson Tide players have won the award previously with Reuben Foster taking home the hardware most recently in 2016. Joining Foster on the list of Alabama linebackers to capture the honors are C.J. Mosley (2013), Rolando McClain (2009) and Derrick Thomas (1988).


The Butkus Award has been presented annually since 1985 by the Butkus Foundation to recognize the top linebacker in college football. The award is named in honor of college and NFL Hall of Fame linebacker Dick Butkus. The 2018 winner will be announced at the conclusion of the regular season and recognized at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 6 in Atlanta, Ga.