Tua Tagovailoa named SEC Offensive Player of the Year


TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – The Alabama Crimson Tide football team landed a league-high eight players on the 2018 Associated Press All-SEC Team, including five first-teamers, the media outlet announced Monday. Tide sophomore quarterback Tua Tagovailoa was a unanimous selection and was also voted SEC Offensive Player of the Year.


Joining Tagovailoa on the first team are sophomore wide receiver Jerry Jeudy, junior offensive lineman Jonah Williams, redshirt senior center Ross Pierschbacher and redshirt sophomore defensive lineman Quinnen Williams.


Senior defensive lineman Isaiah Buggs, junior defensive lineman Raekwon Davis and redshirt junior Deionte Thompson were second-team picks on defense.


All five of the Tide’s first-team selections are also finalists for postseason national awards that will be announced later this month. Tagovailoa is a finalist for the Manning, Maxwell and O’Brien Awards, Jeudy is a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award, Pierschbacher is a finalist for the Rimington Award, Quinnen Williams is a finalist for the Bednarik Award and Nagurski Trophy and both Quinnen and Jonah Williams are finalists for the Outland Trophy.