01-06-18 MFB CFP Media Day
Alabama running back Damien Harris (34)
Photo by Kent Gidley

Harris, Hentges, Miller and Pierschbacher named permanent captains for 2018


BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Alabama football team held its annual awards banquet Sunday evening at the Birmingham Sheraton.


Alabama head coach Nick Saban addressed an audience that included members of the team, coaching staff, administration and support staff following the awards session in which he recapped the 2018 season and stated the goals for the upcoming College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital Orange Bowl on Dec. 29.


The Crimson Tide named four captains on Sunday with seniors Damien Harris, Hale Hentges, Christian Miller and Ross Pierschbacher chosen as the representatives for the 2018 team.


The complete list of award winners is as follows.


Unsung Hero Award
To the player who has made significant contributions to the success of the team and received the least recognition for it

Deionte Brown, Lester Cotton Sr., Najee Harris, Derek Kief, Saivion Smith


Outstanding Senior Scholar
To the senior with the highest GPA
Keaton Anderson, Hale Hentges


Commitment to Academic Excellence Award
To the player who has demonstrated the greatest commitment and achievement in his academic endeavors during the previous year
Shyheim Carte,r Miller Forristall, Jalen Hurts, Alex Leatherwood, LaBryan Ray, Jedrick Wills Jr.

Iron Man Award
To the player(s) who have shown the most dedication to the individual and team goals of the Crimson Tide’s year-round strength and conditioning program
Ronnie Clark, Johnny Dwight, Phidarian Mathis, LaBryan Ray


Most Inspiring Player
To the player who affects the whole team by his attitude as well as his performance (voted on by the players)
Jalen Hurts


Pat Trammel Award
To a senior player whose character and contributions to the Alabama Football Team most personify the All-American youth of today and has reflected qualities of Integrity, Character, Importance of Academics and Inspirational Leadership during their time at Alabama
Joshua Casher, Jamey Mosley


Outstanding Defensive Performer
To the player with the most tackles/points
Anfernee Jennings, Christian Miller, Deionte Thompson, Quinnen Williams


Up-Front Award
To the outstanding lineman from each unit
Isaiah Buggs, Raekwon Davis, Alex Leatherwood, Jedrick Wills Jr.


Defensive Achievement Award
To the player who has played a critical role in the effectiveness of this unit
Shyheim Carter, Dylan Moses Patrick Surtain II, Mack Wilson


Offensive Achievement Award
To the player who has played a critical role in the effectiveness of this unit
Damien Harris, Josh Jacobs, Henry Ruggs, III, Irv Smith Jr.


President’s Award
To a player from each unit who has shown perseverance in making outstanding contributions to the team’s success
Hale Hentges, Jalen Hurts, DeVonta Smith, Jonah Williams


Jefferson County Distinguished Alumnus Award
A former player who has exemplified the principles, values, character and attitude that make a person successful either during a particular life experience or over a period of time
Bob Baumhower


Special Teams Player of the Year Award
To the most valuable special teams player
Keaton Anderson, Josh Jacobs, Ale Kaho, Jayle Waddle


Offensive Player of the Year Award
To the most valuable offensive player
Jerry Jeudy, Ross Pierschbacher, Tua Tagovailoa


Defensive Player of the Year Award
To the most valuable defensive player
Isaiah Buggs, Xavier McKinney, Quinnen Williams


Most Valuable Player Award
To the overall most valuable player on the team (voted on by the players)
Tua Tagovailoa


Captain Awards
To the players elected by their teammates as permanent team captains (voted on by the players)
Damien Harris, Hale Hentges, Christian Miller, Ross Pierschbacher