Saban is one of 13 named to the finalist list for coach of the year


DALLAS – Alabama head coach Nick Saban was named one of 13 finalists for the 2021 Eddie Robinson Award, the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) announced on Tuesday afternoon.


A two-time winner and eight-time finalist for the Eddie Robinson Award, Saban is joined by: Blake Anderson (Utah State), Dave Aranda (Baylor), Luke Fickell (Cincinnati), Thomas Hammock (NIU), Jim Harbaugh (Michigan), Billy Napier (Louisiana), Pat Narduzzi (Pittsburgh), Kalani Sitake (BYU), Kirby Smart (Georgia), Jeff Traylor (UTSA), Mel Tucker (Michigan State) and Kyle Whittingham (Utah).


Nick Saban

  • Has guided Alabama to a 12-1 season that has seen UA be named Southeastern Conference Champions and earn a spot in the College Football Playoff for an NCAA-record seventh time
  • Helped the Tide claim its 29th conference title overall and eighth under his tutelage with a dominant 41-24 win over then-No. 1/1/1 Georgia in the 2021 SEC Championship Game
  • Clinched the program’s 16th SEC Western Division title (14th outright) with a win over then-No. 21/21/22 Arkansas on Nov. 20
  • Led UA to 12 wins for the 11th time in the last 14 seasons
  • Enters the 2021 postseason with a 182-24 (.884) record at Alabama and a 273-66-1 (.804) overall mark across 26 seasons as a head coach


The FWAA has presented a coaching award since the 1957 season when Ohio State’s Woody Hayes was named the first recipient. The FWAA coaching award was named after the late Robinson, a coaching legend at Grambling State University for 55 seasons, in 1997. The winner of the 2021 Eddie Robinson Award will be announced on Monday, Dec. 20.