The Crimson Tide’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee handed out awards at its annual awards banquet Tuesday night

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – The Alabama Athletics Department’s annual Crimson Choice Awards Banquet, presented by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), was held Tuesday evening at the Bryant Conference Center.

Senior swimmer Travis Kerner, the SAAC president, opened the celebration of Crimson Tide excellence by welcoming the gathered student-athletes, coaches, staff and administration.

Senior Southeastern Conference Men’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year Retin Obasohan and senior All-American and Academic All-American softball player Haylie McCleney were named the winners of the Paul W. Bryant Award given annually to the top male and female student-athlete. The Paul W. Bryant Student-Athlete Award was created by the Tuscaloosa County Chapter of the University of Alabama Alumni Association in 1985.

Gymnastics and the men’s swimming and diving were honored as the teams with the highest grade point averages. Gymnastics earned the honor with a 3.74 team GPA while the swimmers and divers earned the distinction with a 3.25.

The Athletics Department’s community outreach efforts were also recognized during the event. Crimson Tide student-athletes gave almost 3,000 hours toward community service this year. Golf was the women’s squad with the most community outreach hours while basketball earned the honor for the men.


Other Crimson Choice Awards handed out Monday night included:

Team of the Year – Football and Softball

Coach of the Year Award – Pat Murphy, Softball and Nick Saban, Football

Comeback Athlete of the Year – Kenyan Drake, Football

Athlete of the Year –Derrick Henry, Football and Emma Talley, Women’s Golf

Rookie of the Year – Alexis Osorio, Softball and Calvin Ridley, Football

Faculty Member of the Year – Angela Billings, Communication Studies

Support Staff Member of the Year – Terry Jones, Strength & Conditioning

Fan Favorite – Derrick Henry, Football