The senior one of 10 FBS student-athletes in the running for national honor 

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – Alabama senior punter JK Scott was selected as one of 10 finalists for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award it was announced Wednesday.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

In the classroom, Scott maintains a 3.12 grade point average in general business and is on pace to graduate in December after only three and a half years. He was selected to the SEC Academic Honor Roll each of the last two years and was tabbed to the league’s First Year Academic Honor Roll as a freshman.

Scott has ranked near the top of the Crimson Tide roster for hours worked in the community each of his first three years at UA. He spends extensive time working with the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, speaking at local schools and working with youth groups. The senior also participates each year in Alabama Athletics’ Halloween Extravaganza, efforts with Project Angel Tree during the holiday season and has volunteered his time at local hospitals during the Tide’s bowl trips during his career.

On the field, the Denver, Colo., native has punted 32 times for 1,359 yards to average 42.5 yards per boot with a long of 59 this season. He has sent 10 kicks over 50 yards and forced 19 fair catches with only two touchbacks.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in the areas of community, classroom, character and competition.

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in October. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to vote through December 4. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January.