Alabama head coach one of seven candidates for national coach of the year honors

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – Alabama head coach Nick Saban is one of seven finalists for the Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award, the American Heart Association and title sponsor Marathon Oil announced Wednesday.

Saban, who won the Bryant Award in 2003, has led the Crimson Tide to a 13-0 record, the school’s 27th Southeastern Conference championship and the No. 1 seed in the upcoming College Football Playoff this season. The Crimson Tide has reached the 13-win mark for the fourth year in a row and the sixth time in Saban’s tenure at UA. Alabama is also making its fifth CFP appearance this season and is the only school to appear in every edition of the playoff.

Saban is joined as a finalist by UAB’s Bill Clark, Notre Dame’s Brian Kelly, UCF’s Josh Heupel, Army’s Jeff Monken, Clemson’s Dabo Swinney and Fresno State’s Jeff Tedford.

The winner of the 2018 Bryant Award will be announced Jan. 9, 2019 at the 33rd annual Paul
“Bear” Bryant Awards dinner in Houston, Texas.